Posted by: lucylastic | June 6, 2007

Variety is the spice of life!

It’s always interesting to see what makes other people tick and to check out recommendations for other Blogs.  I like to take the time to read at least a few posts that have been highlighted by fellow Bloggers.  The sheer diversity of content matter, writing style and ‘readability’ is mind-boggling – and I have come across many, many very talented and entertaining writers in the last few months.  I started to ponder on what all these people were doing before Blogging to satisfy their need to communicate.  For years, I told people that I was going to write a novel – indeed, I made several attempts at it whilst on ‘sabbatical’ in Spain a few years ago – funnily enough, the closest I ever got to making progress with it was when I just sat and wrote a ‘stream of consciousness’ not dissimilar to this and many other Blogs out there.  In those days of course, Blogs hadn’t really been invented – but the ‘little and often’ approach is much more easily accomplished for many it seems.  Check out my Blogroll for links to a number of very different, but nevertheless entertaining sites.  I particularly like ‘Mystic Veg’, a new Blogger but with a humorous and quirky style that I enjoyed right away.

Changing the subject completely, our First Wedding Anniversary is a mere 4 days away!!!!  For some reason, it’s designated as the ‘paper’ anniversary – which has always struck me as a bit cheapskate – but great nevertheless as I am an avid reader and a new book always fills me with real excitement and anticipation.  (Not that I have any reason to suppose I’ll be receiving a book, but you never know).  More thrilling still for me is the fact that I am married to the most amazing man!  We have a history that dates back to 1986 – I shan’t go into all the gory details now, but it is a bit of a saga!  If you ever find yourself unable to sleep, just give me a call and I’ll tell you the whole convoluted tale.  Suffice it to say that when we ‘re-met’ in February 2005, the timing finally felt right for both of us and we have been inseparable ever since.  In fact, lovely husband came round for dinner one cold night back in March 2005 and didn’t go home for about 3 weeks.  The rest, as they say, is history!  Roll on Sunday.

I haven’t done ‘3 things’ for a while and the more I try and recall 3 things the harder it seems to be to find even one!  Am I becoming less observant or does it reflect a state of mind?  I’ll try harder next time.

Responses

  1. Thanks for the mention in your blog roll!


Leave a Reply

Categories

