Posted by: lucylastic | August 23, 2007

Fame and fortune, but not very nice!

I have thought many a time that it would be very nice to be rich, but without having to be famous.  Before you reach for a keyboard to write a begging eMail though, let me assure you that I am as poor as ever, and have absolutely no money to spare.  Indeed, I am probably in a Net negative position, what with a humungus mortgage and various other assorted debts, children, step-children, food to buy and a cute little roadster to run.  I do know some rich (ish) people though, and they don’t seem to be very happy or very nice a lot of the time.  One rich person I know seems to take great pleasure in putting people down and always finding fault with everything, usually in quite a loud voice.  Worse still, if one attempts any sort of conversation, said person manages to stare off into the middle distance – giving the distinct impression that one is not really worth even listening to.  More infuriating still is a real ‘drama queen’ that I encounter quite regularly – the fortunate recipient of a very large divorce payout, she replays her private life in public, very loudly, but always in the role of ‘victim’.  She is never at fault, it’s always someone else and no one understands her.  If anyone I know seriously tries my Christian behaviour and thoughts it is this woman.  I admit it, I want to slap her.  Hard. Thank you.  I feel much better now that I have got that off my chest!!!!

   

 Moving on to much nicer people, I am blessed indeed to have some fantastic friends – a group who love life, enjoy enjoyment and who light up rooms whenever they enter them!  I just want to let them know how much they are appreciated.  The sad and tragically early loss of a former work colleague last week has really made me think about trying to make the most of every day and spending my time with people who make life better, not worse.  RIP Sharon, you’ll be missed by very many indeed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

