Posted by: lucylastic | April 16, 2008

Choo Choo!!!!

I am into Day 3 of my new job at Westinghouse Rail Systems and taking advantage of my generous 1 hour lunch break to update my Blog.  Things I am enjoying so far………the restrained, but very real passion and commitment from people who are doing a good job well.  Westinghouse has an amazing reputation in the rail industry and my new colleagues are rightly proud of their safety, quality and technology record.  I also like working in the world of AR’s, 1:1’s and Solutions Architects – all terms with which I am not only familiar, but comfortable.  Best thing I have come across to date is the headline in the last issue of the in-house magazine, (Signal) ‘Time for a rest after 83 years of service’ – telling the story of 2 (yes, only 2), employees who have clocked up 37 years and 46 years of service respectively.  I am still trying to figure out the difference between a WestLock and a Solid State Interlocking, (not really, the former is a replacement for the older ‘SSI’ and does 4 times as much in half the size) – but even though I know that, I am not sure what I am going to do with that knowledge!  I must be capable of turning into a competitive advantage for the customer somehow.  It’s early days, but I’m pretty sure I’m going to like it!!!!

Responses

  1. Glad it’s going well Lucy! I was wondering.


Leave a Reply

Categories

