Posted by: lucylastic | September 4, 2009

The Wild Garlic – Review

Friend of a friend Maddie, (see her blog at http://worldfrommywindow.blogspot.com/) has just posted her review of The Wild Garlic, Masterchef winner Mat Follas’s restaurant in Beaminster. It was Lovely Husband’s birthday earlier in the week and I had booked us a table for lunch. It’s a 2 and a half hour trek from Swindon -so not for the faint hearted, but well worth the visit and the tortuous and crawling traffic through Crewkerne – another time, I’ll definitely find a better route.

First impressions of the place were good – light, airy, not at all pretentious, (not that I was expecting it to be, but some places surprise), loved the wooden tables with sayings carved around the edges, but frustrated not to read all of them as it would have been just plain rude to get up and stare at all 4 sides – especially in the laps of other diners! A great intrigue though. Initially, I was a bit disappointed with the (short) length of the lunch menu, but at least it made choosing easy! I was delighted with my sweet chilli squid, soft, melt in the mouth and great sprinkles of flower petals and very tasty leaves and LH praised his tomato and basil soup very highly. The mains were the star of the show, with my whole plaice coated with butter and caper sauce an instant hit – fresh, beautifully cooked and very hot as it came to the table – I dislike warm fish – this must have come literally from under the grill. The accompanying potato salad and salad leaves were delicious – I would definitely recommend it. I don’t mind eating my fish on the bone, but I noticed a couple of people asking for theirs to be removed from the bone by the Maitre D’, which was done with good grace. LH had the Water Buffalo burger – tasty, filling and an unusual taste – beef-like, but definitely different – he enjoyed it tremendously. Desserts were a dream, I had Mat’s Lavender ice cream – which I could eat and eat and eat, such a delicate flavour – served with a piece of shortbread; LH got his Dorset Apple cake with a birthday candle in it – delivered by Mat himself, (I had mentioned it was his birthday when I booked, so lovely to be remembered) and was suitably embarrassed. We had a very nice bottle of New Zealand sparkling Lindauer to accompany the food – truth be told, I could easily have sat and had another, but we had to go! We’ll be back – it was worth the trip and a very reasonable £65 including the wine.

Can’t wait to go back for dinner – must get my booking in – maybe for Christmas!!!!

Responses

  1. Yum sounds divine! Particularly the lavender ice cream.


Leave a Reply

Categories

