Posted by: lucylastic | November 23, 2009

In a week dominated by Radio 2’s way too over the top support for Children in Need, I was glad to be able to get out of the house and back to my favourite restaurant, Caldesi in Campagna, http://www.caldesi.com/caldesi-in-campagna/index.htm I have blogged about Caldesi’s before, but this isn’t going to stop me mentioning it again, as I really love the food there and think that Giancarlo and Katie Caldesi, the lovely proprietors, are two of the nicest, kindest, most genuine people I have ever met. Last week saw us attending Caldesi’s to celebrate Katie’s latest book – The Italian Cookery Course – available on Amazon of course – http://www.amazon.co.uk/Italian-Cookery-Course-Authentic-Masterclasses/dp/1856267792/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1258975382&sr=8-1 If you want a lovely location for a special occasion or just a yummy meal out, I commend it to you. The food is tasty, beautifully prepared and served, with a lovely selection of wines to set it off.

Are we all getting too cynical, or is Strictly losing its sparkle? Jade’s knee-popping accident a couple of weeks ago has taken her out of the competition and Ricky Groves lacklustre tango saw the judges bid him farewell. I really don’t like Chris Hollins and Ola – they are just too twee for me. And his baby-faced, uber-sweet smile is making my stomach churn. I have always loved Strictly and thought that this year’s less than stellar line-up would nevertheless grow on me and I would be enjoying it all the way to the finish. The only person that I can truly say this of is Natalie and the cheeky Vincent Simone, they dance well together, but unfortunately, they are not in the same league as the vacuous Brian and Ali and Ricky Whittle and another Natalie. I am losing interest. Bring back Camilla Dalerup – though that seems unlikely as she’s getting married next year and is doubtless pleased to be away from her ex, Brendan Cole.

Even The Restaurant is failing to impress- what a bunch of losers – there isn’t really anyone who can cook! Not sure how much influence Raymond has over who gets selected, but people who just can’t cook and who think it’s OK to be rude to customers shouldn’t still be in there!!!!

Responses

  1. The book looks great – saw some recipes from it in Hello.

    You’re right about Strictly and The Restaurant. Both very disappointing this year. The Restaurant offers a fabulous prize but it seems none of the contestants deserve it. They’re all chosen because of their TV value. I felt sorry for the Services guy who went out last week because he did seem able to cook, but his accomplice Badger bottled it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

