Posted by: lucylastic | January 19, 2010

Larkrise to Candleford………..wherever they may be

I don’t know how I could possibly have missed the first two series of Larkrise to Candleford, because, let’s face it, there isn’t usually much to do on a Sunday evening except sit in front of the box – it’s my one day of TV indulgence, the one day I can be found scrolling through the ‘catch-up’ facility to watch the best of the week’s offerings in one session – much more satisfactory than being bound to odd days and times and subjected to increasingly dumb advertising or advertorialising on the BBC.

But, miss the first two series I did…….  I think that watching Cranford over Christmas softened me up because I am not often to be found in front of too much costume drama, but I was entranced from the first minutes of the latest series.  The characters are wonderfully drawn and quite subtly send out messages about the reality of life in those far off, halcyon days.  The Misses Pratt in the dress shop, with their matching outfits and tightly wrapped emotions are brilliantly portrayed, as is the frustrated Mrs Brown, hapless wife of the most devout postman ever, Mr Thomas Brown – last weeks epidode featured their ‘endeavours’ and the classic line – ‘we sometimes endeavour eight or nine times a night, I am worn out’, which turned out to refer to praying rather than the endeavouring activity itself.  The story is honeyed and far-fetched of course, reminiscent of the innocence times reflected in the excellent Darling Buds of May, (though that seems more dated now), but with a pithier approach to life that shows that it wasn’t all a land of milk and honey.

If you haven’t tried it, give it a go – you may be pleasantly surprised.  Eithwer that or I am turning into a real old fuddie duddie – in my defence, I am still LOVING Nurse Jackie!!!!  Bye for now.

Leave a Reply

Categories

