Posted by: lucylastic | February 2, 2010

The power of TV………….

A few months ago, I had never heard of Liverpool comedian John Bishop – I first saw him on Michael McIntyre’s Roadshow last autumn – Liverpudlians have always been known for their humour, and John’s deadpan delivery hits my funny button every time.   If you don’t know who I am talking about – take a look at

http://www.johnbishoponline.com/

Sadly, such is the demand for the man that his current tour is selling out faster than nights can be added – dates for Swindon Arts Centre and Newbury Corn Exchange are already sold out – and it seems I will have to travel much further afield if I want to see him live.  There’s something about a live act that is very hard to resist – esepcially one you know will entertain you. 

Another of my TV faves is Phil Jupitus – recently seen by me and LH in the role of Edna Turnblad at the Shaftesbury Theatre production of  Hairspray.  It was a great evening and I loved the story – set in Baltimore in 1962 and focusing on the twin prejudices of black segregation and the unacceptability of fat people as role models/icons.  I will do a fuller review soon………………

Meanwhile, if you manage to get a John Bishop ticket, let me know…………..

Responses

  1. Shame the Swindon Arts Centre is sold out – might have been a fun gig in the spirit of Colin Blunstone!


Leave a Reply

Categories

