Posted by: lucylastic | August 16, 2010

Expectation ahead of a visitor……….

I met my friend L on a Windjammer Barefoot Cruise – some 10 or 11 years ago now……… sadly, Windjammer as a company is no more, but I learnt today that one of their old vessels, the Mandalay – see above, (on which I have sailed a number of times, inluding on my honeymoon in 2006), has been acquired by another cruise company and is now sailing around Ecuador.  (Check out see http://www.angermeyercruises.com/index if you are interested.  Also, if I am not mistaken, the same company has a vessel that is now called the ‘Mary Anne’, but which looks incredibly like one of the other Windjammers that used to be called the Polynesia – painted a different colour.  I do so hope these ships are getting a new lease of life – they deserve to be more than museum pieces.  But I digress.  What I really wanted to talk about is ‘expectation’ and how fabuous it is to truly savour it and indulge in it – for reality is a brief lived thing at the best of times.

So, I haven’t seen ‘L’ for ages – but our joint holiday experiences in the Caribbean aboard relaxed, old fashioned sailing ships bring me many happy memories – going for a helicopter ride that took in a volcano mouth and the pilot battling with the down-draught so we could get a bit closer, (seen enough thanks, back up now, Captain); holding fresh lobsters as they ‘vibrated’ and clacked their shells, (not me, I took the picture); a silly quiz in Cosmo that ‘L’ managed to get half the passengers involved in and the hilarious way she added to the answers……………our sides hurt from the laughing we did that week.

So, my expectations are all around that – despite a few years since we saw one another, I am hoping for lots of laughter, daft jokes, witty conversation, reminiscing and above all, good company.  We have the prospect of an Oxford Garden Party ahead of us, a trip to Soho to try and find old haunts from the 1970’s, (L’s, not mine), the fact that she ‘doesn’t drink coffee or beer, but still likes a ‘rum and diet coke’, and plenty of time to talk and listen.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

Responses

  1. I’m sure you’ll have a fab time Lucy. I recently met up with a friend I last saw in 1991….it was great and as if we’d resumed from the day before.

    Love the ship too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

