Posted by: lucylastic | January 20, 2011

I wondered why I felt ‘strange’ yesterday – full moon methinks!

The full moon has been linked to crime, suicide, mental illness, disasters, accidents, birthrates, fertility and werewolves, (among other things). Some people even trade on the stock market, grow vines and other crops and make major life decisions according to the phases of the moon.  If you believe in astrology, (and I don’t, really, but I have been known to check my horoscope every now and then) being born under the sign of Cancer, (as I am) means that I very prone to being affected by the moon, (allegedly).

So is that why I was feeling so ‘strange’ yesterday?  I attributed my ‘weird’ feelings, (being disorientated, agitated, short-tempered, churned up inside) to the fact that I had a bad start to the day – getting caught in a very long diversion becuase of an accident that made me an hour and a half late for work.  Finally at my desk, I realised that I had left my glasses behind, which meant straining to read any small print, including my computer screen.  But the degree of agitation I felt seemed disproportionate to the ‘troubles’ I encountered.

Driving home, the sight of the full, bright and very heavy-looking moon was distracting – I kept staring at it – not a good idea whilst driving on the motorway.  Back at home, I was drawn to the window time and time again to see if it was ‘really full yet’, (21.21 Universal Time apparently).  I continued to be ‘discombobulated’, (great word, no idea what it really means) until much later in the evening – when I finally started to relax.

Surely nothing to do with the wine!

Anyway, in addition, the moon and its effects have been the subject of numerous studies – and so far, the studies have failed to establish much of interest. In the same way that smoking was always a leading cause of statistics, the moon is the same – lunar effects that have been found seem to relate little to behaviour in reality – so while we know that the moon influences the tides and has (a small) effect on global temperature, we can’t really blame it for the axe murderer – or can we?

Anyone else out there who felt unaccountably strange yesterday?  I’d love to hear from you!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

