Posted by: lucylastic | November 15, 2011

The lovely Gareth Malone – so glad he’s back on our screens……….

I am a sucker for anything vaguely military – there’s a long line of it in my family – brother, cousins, uncles, grandfather and beyond, back into the mists of time, (there’s also a history of mental instability and Catholic Priesthood, but we’ll pass over that for the time being).

I also love singing – not doing it, I truly have a voice that scares the living daylights out of many – though I am not easily deterred. Accompanying ‘golden oldies’ on Radio 2’s ‘pick of the pops’ is a pleasure reserved for solo performance in the kitchen and I know what they think of me at church – young children have been known to turn round and stare when I start warbling away to some favourite hymn or other.  So, something that combines music and military is absolutely right up my street!

Anyway, less me, more them – The Choir – Military Wives – is what I’m talking about – the lovely Gareth Malone’s latest venture has been on our screens recently – I have been away so it’s piling up on my saved programmes – and of course, has been overtaken by the moving performance made by The Choir on last Saturday’s Celebration of Remembrance from the Royal Albert Hall – with a specially written song guaranteed to bring a tear to the eye of the hardest cynic.

There’s plenty about it on the web – just Google Gareth Malone if you want to see more – but for now, I want to bask in the warmth of feeling he creates by bringing groups of people together and turning them into winning teams – some management types could learn a lot about motivation from Gareth. To those who think they can’t sing, he praises constantly; he’s warm and genuine, not too pushy, but pushy enough; he understands who needs to be coaxed out and who is genuinely determined to stay at the back and he knows that you need a bunch of workers to make things happen – a choir is no place for too many Divas!

If you haven’t seen it yet, try and watch at least one episode on iPlayer – I guarantee it’ll cheer you up.

 

Responses

  1. Really fabulous programme, so uplifting. I loved seeing the ladies in Plymouth too (where I grew up).


Leave a Reply

Categories

