Posted by: lucylastic | February 13, 2012

Time to ponder…………….

As I mentioned in my last post, I am spending more time at home lately – I am enjoying, (if that is the right word) a spell of ‘gardening leave’.  A somewhat over-used word, that means many things to many people.  In my case, it means that I no longer have a job to go to – or not a regular type of one in any case…………

My reader may recall that I started the New Year full of excitement about starting a ‘Jamie at Home’ business – this is still the case – but as I have more time than usual to ponder, I am starting to worry about whether I really have enough of the ‘salesman’ in me to make it work.  Many years ago, my younger brother remarked that he thought I could ‘sell snow to the eskimos’, which I think was meant to reflect my powers of persuasion – but I never did feel like that person, a good talker, yes, hands up for that one, but salesperson – I’m not sure.

So far, I am relying on the good will of family and friends to host parties and buy stuff – but to be successful, it needs a much greater network and networking ability – somehow, one has to be able to ‘close’ with stangers, getting them to sign up on the dotted line and keep the pipeline full.

If you have tips or suggestions for doing this better, (you couldn’t do worse, really), then please feel free to let me know.

 

 

Responses

  1. Lucy
    Start a group on Linked In related to your business. Join every other catering type group you can find on there, may help to build/widen your network.
    Start another ‘page/group’ on FB and make it public. (you might get some spam/trolls, but you’ll just have to keep an eye on it)
    Hope this helps for starters and hope you and yours are well too!
    Heather x

  2. A good (and free) CRM software would help a great deal.
    It will help you keeping track of leads, follow ups and such. Easing your contact with the clients in the process while freeing up time to use for looking for new clients.


Leave a Reply

Categories

