Posted by: lucylastic | May 9, 2012

Ageing Britain Faces Arthritis ‘Tsunami’*

First of all, I have to acknowledge Sky News* as the source of my info – check out the story on http://uk.news.yahoo.com/ageing-britain-faces-arthritis-tsunami-044316946.html

I was interested in this article as I have just made an appointment with the doctor about the terrible joint swelling and pain in my hands.  Yes, dear reader, I truly fear I may have arthritis or rheumatism, (not sure I could explain the difference if pushed) or a combination of both – and it’s hell.  Some of my finger joints are very swollen and tender and I get deep, stabbing pains in my hands at random times.  There is no history of this affliction in my family and at 49, I feel WAY TOO YOUNG to be a sufferer.  But something isn’t right and I need to do something about it…………………..

Could it be a working lifetime of daily, prolonged computer keyboard use?  Too much scrubbing when young perhaps?  An overload of housework?  Hot and cold water immersion?  Too much cooking, kneading, mixing and stirring?  Whatever it is, our hands are in use almost all the time – even when talking mine tend to fly around with minds of their own.  I hate the thought of losing the use of them………….but already I’m dropping things for no reason, my grip is weaker and I no longer offer to open stubborn jars or bottles.  Woe is me.

Responses

  1. Oh Lucy how awful! I am sorry. It does sound a bit like rheumatism, which comes in 2 types. I don’t think it’s always age related — my sister-in-law started getting it when she was in her early 30s.


Leave a Reply

Categories

